LC40 challenges and tips

Submitted to Product Talk

Hey there fellow makers,

I have had an LC 40 for about two months now and have put almost 200 hours on it.  It has become the work horse of my company.  I really dig this machine, especially having started out on a $500 generic Chinese machine.  That said, it still has it's quirks and challenges.  I wanted to start a conversation about what I have discovered and raise some questions.

Challenges/Questions
  1. Cutting issues - When I started using this machine, it cut through 3mm wood stock like it was butter using the stock settings.  Not such much 200 hours later (see the attached picture).  There are some troubleshooting steps you can try out when this starts to happen, which I've outlined below, but I am wondering if I am missing something because at this point I am having to run cuts twice on 3mm stock to get a clean cut.
  2. Software issues - I am a software developer in my 40 hour and I cannot begin to cover the frustration your web interface brings to me.  I'm not sure this is the proper forum to highlight some of the challenges I have encountered with it, so I'll leave that alone.  It is certainly usable and I have made hundreds of items using it, but I would really love it if I could just use regular laser controller software like LightBurn to manage my projects.  Is that doable?
  3. Focus rail locking screw slips - This is more annoyance than problem.  When I adjust the focus for a piece, I have to really crank the compression screw down or the focus will slip and drag the air nozzle across the work.  That could (should?) be redesigned to be more of a latching rather than compression device.

Tips/Tricks